Welcome to Google Drive Help Community!
To delete files, move them to the trash.
The files will stay there until you empty your trash. When you put a file in the trash:
If you own the file, people you’ve shared it with can make a copy. Learn how to permanently delete a file.If you don’t own the file, removing the file from your Drive only removes it for you.
Is this what you have been trying to do?