I have a shared folder (from a previous job) that I’ve not used in years. It uses 7GB so, to free up space in my Drive account, I wanted to remove it. I was concerned that by selecting ‘Remove’ from the menu it might delete it for other users who may want access. So I removed myself (as an Editor) from the shared folder (using the permissions dialog) anticipating that this would remove it from my account. This did not remove the folder as expected but has resulted in the folder now being invisible to me (subfolders still show in search results) and the 7GB of space still being used. Does anyone know how to remedy this? I simply want rid of the folder and space freed up.
The shared folder apparently contained some files that you own, and are therefore count against your quota. Removing a shared folder does not delete its contents, so you still have the files, although they may be unorganized (not in My Drive).
To find and delete any of your unorganized items, you can search for is:unorganized owner:me in Drive. Note: deleting items that you own will remove everyone’s access when they are deleted from the Trash.